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 Base Registration Fees 

Vehicle Type Weight Fee 

Passenger Vehicles &  
Small Trucks 

 
6,000 lbs. or less 

 
$50.75 
 

   

**Trucks 6,001-10,000 lbs. $54.00 

 10,001 - 18,000 lbs. $110.00 

 18,001 - 25,999 lbs. $205.00 

 26,000 - 40,000 lbs. $340.00 

 40,001 - 54,999 lbs. $535.00 

 55,000 - 70,000 lbs. $740.00 

 70,001 – 80,000 lbs. $840.00 

 Over 80,000 lbs. Varies 

   

Trailers & Travel Trailers 6,000 lbs. or less $45.00 

   

Motorcycles and 
Mopeds  $30.00 

 
 

Vehicle Registration Fees 
 

Texas motor vehicle owners are required to annually renew their vehicle registration.  HB 2553, passed during the 81
st

 Legislative Session, created a new, more simplified 
vehicle registration fee structure to be implemented on September 1, 2011.  The state registration fee is split between the state and the county.     
 
Registration fees include the base fee, plus a $1 automation fee (used for improvements to the registration and title system) and $1 for the Department of Public Safety 
to support the TexasSure insurance verification program and other Department of Public Safety initiatives. These fees are itemized on the registration receipt.  Local 
county fees are also included in the total amount. These fees are collected with registration fees through your local County Tax Assessor-Collector's office and range up to 
$20 depending on the county. 
 
Gross Vehicle Weight - The gross vehicle weight of a truck is determined by adding the empty 
weight of the vehicle and the heaviest load that will be carried by the vehicle (carrying capacity) 
during the registration year. 
 
Additional Fees -  
Large truck fees based on weight may also include: 

o 10% - Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) Surcharge (deposited to Texas Mobility 
Fund, 365) 

o 11% - Diesel fee for trucks over 2 tons is based on the age or weight of the vehicle, 
applicable miscellaneous fees, and the county in which it is registered.  
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FY08 FY09 FY10 FY11 FY12

Commissions $68,313,295 $75,125,355 $77,629,120 $79,485,653 $83,549,438

* Road and BridgeRevenue $186,705,855 $163,438,306 $133,885,432 $127,596,009 $120,835,711

Optional Road and Bridge $194,856,733 $196,619,499 $198,420,966 $200,947,423 $212,955,362
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Registration & Road and Bridge Fees for Counties 
(FY 2008-2012) 

Example: 

 

$  60,000 Registration fees collected 
/retained for county road and 
bridge fund 

+ $175,000 If county maintains 500 road 
miles (500 X $350 = $175,000) 

+ $200,000 The portion of the 5% motor 
vehicle sales tax retained by the 
county from registration fees 

+ $125,000 Half of the registration fees 
collected and retained by the 
county (see #2 above) 

$560,000 Total collected and retained by 
county that year 

 

County Share of Registration and Title Related Fees 

 
All registration fees collected by the county each year are deposited to the credit of the county road and bridge fund in accordance with the formula set forth in Sec. 
502.198, Transportation Code. The formula divides retained funds into three tiers.  The first tier allows the county to retain the first $60,000, plus the number of road 
miles maintained by the county (up to 500 miles) X $350; plus 5%  of sales tax and penalties collected during previous calendar year (Trans. Code, Sec. 502.1981 & Tax 
Code, Sec. 152.123).  The funds from the retained sales tax are currently split between registration fees from the Highway Fund and sales tax collections from the General 
Revenue Fund.  
 
After the above limits are met, the county retains half of the registration fees collected until the amount retained by the county equals $125,000.  After the county 
reaches $125,000, they remit 100% of the registration fees collected to the state. 

*Revenue includes a portion of the motor vehicle sales tax and registration fees 
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County Sales Tax Commission 
FY 2008-2012 

Registration Portion Sales Tax Portion

County Commissions 
 

In addition to the registration fees and motor vehicle sales taxes retained by counties, counties are compensated for the cost of processing vehicle-related 

transactions.  A county will retain a fee of $1.90 for each registration issued; $5.00 is retained for each title application, and $.50 for each specialty plate.  

Counties will also retain $2.50 for replacement plates, one-half of a delinquent title transfer penalty (minimum amount a county may retain is $5.00), 1/12 of the 

registration transfer fee, $1.00 for mail-in registrations, $2.00 for a duplicate registration receipt, $1.50 child safety fee, and $25.00 of the mechanic lien 

notification.  Counties also retain 100% of the optional county road and bridge fee and optional regional mobility fee. The optional regional mobility fee of 

$10.00 is currently assessed by Cameron and Hildago Counties. El Paso and Bexar Counties were granted authority to assess these optional fees but have not 

implemented them to date. 

 

The county commission has two components: one based on motor vehicle sales taxes administered by the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts and the other 

based on various vehicle registration fees administered by TxDMV.  The motor vehicle sales tax commission is 5% of the tax and penalties collected in relation to 

motor vehicles sales, seller-financed sales and the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) tax surcharge for a county during the preceding calendar year.  

Beginning in 2006 counties received 10% of the commission from the General Revenue Fund and 90% from the State Highway Fund. Each year the amount from 

the General Revenue Fund has increased by 10% and decreased in an offsetting amount from the State Highway Fund, as shown in the table to the right.  Tax 

Code Section 152.123 establishes this part of the county’s commission.  The commission due for collecting registration fees is set out in Transportation Code 

Section 501.102.  

  County Sales Tax Commission 

Year 
Sales Tax & 

TERP 
Registration  

Fees 

2006 10% 90% 

2007 20% 80% 

2008 30% 70% 

2009 40% 60% 

2010 50% 50% 

2011 60% 40% 

2012 70% 30% 

2013 80% 20% 

2014 90% 10% 

2015 100% 0% 
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13,576 
84,785 

172,466 

4,405 
28,143 

5,076 
275,641 

27,661 

75,051 

54,276 
Agricultural 2%

Buildings & Houses
11%
Construction 23%

Government/Military
Equipment 1%
Manufacturing 4%

Mining & Exploration
1%
Oil and Gas Industry
37%
Utilities & Wind
Energy 4%

Texas Permitting & Routing Optimization System  

(TxPROS) 

 
TxDMV issues oversize/overweight (OS/OW) permits to protect the traveling public, 

transported loads and highway pavement, bridges and overpasses.  Motor carriers 

ordered more than 741,000 permits in FY 2012 and more than 790,000 in FY 2013 to 

transport OS/OW loads on Texas highways.  Permit fees generated approximately 

$147 million in FY 2012 and more than $162 million in FY 2013 that can be used to 

improve and maintain Texas roadways.  Texas issues more OS/OW permits than any 

other state. 

Motor carriers are required to obtain an OS/OW permit to transport loads that 

cannot be broken down to comply with legal size and weight limits.  The carrier 

must obtain one of 27 different permits to legally haul loads that are more than 

80,000 pounds, 8.5 feet wide, 14 feet tall or exceed certain length restrictions.  

Typical permitted loads include construction and oil field equipment, bridge beams, 

generators and transformers, modular buildings, wind tower components, and other 

high value products.  Many of these loads require mapping a route to avoid 

overhead structures, weight restricted bridges, construction zones and other 

obstacles.  The quality and efficiency of TxDMV’s permit and routing services are 

significant assets to freight transport and the Texas economy.  Texas is the number 

one exporting state in the country for 11 years in a row.  About 17 percent of all U.S. 

exports pass through Texas.   

Trucking firms can now apply for an OS/OW permit, pay fees and route trucks on the best route to handle the load’s size and weight, all online, anytime.  Along with the 

permit, the system analyzes and generates a custom route with turn-by-turn directions for drivers.  Since the TxPROS launch, permit fee collections and the number of 

permits issued have increased.  Customers are using TxPROS to self-issue more than half of all permits.  TxPROS has dramatically reduced permit routing and issuance 

time, allowing TxDMV to meet growing demand for services, increase safety for the traveling public, and improve tracking of obstacles to OS/OW routing. 

So far, TxPROS has received recognition from five states and national awards.  These awards include Best Application Serving an Agency’s Business Needs from the Center 

for Digital Government-Best of Texas, Best Fit Integrator Award for Exceptional Service Award in Transportation, Smart Solution Spotlight Award from Intelligent 

Transportation Society of America, Best Use of Innovation- America’s Transportation Awards – WASHTO/AASHTO, and the 2012 Government Computer News Awards 

winner. 
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Weight Tolerance Fee Distribution 

 

Description Distribution 

$50 Base Fee Deposited to GR 
(County Portion) 

$40 Base Fee State Highway Fund 

Scaled County Fee Deposited 
to GR 

(County 
Portion) 

State 
Highway 

Fund 

# of 
Counties 
on Permit 

Fee 
Amount 

1-5 $175 $125 $50 

6-20 $250 $125 $125 

21-40 $450 $345 $105 

41-60 $650 $565 $60 

61-80 $800 $785 $15 

81-100 $900 $900 $0 

101-254 $1000 $1000 $0 

$5 Administrative Fee State Highway Fund 

 

69% 
31% 

Weight Tolerance Permits 
(FY 2013) 

State
Highway
Fund
$14,244,682
County
Road and
Bridge
$6,311,795

 

 Total Weight Tolerance Permits Issued 
and Percentage Comparison to Total 

OS/OW Permits Issued 
FY 09  30,653  5.8% 
FY 10  30,097  6.0% 
FY 11  33,460  5.7% 
FY 12  42,026  5.7% 
FY 13  46,976  6.0% 

 

Weight Tolerance Permits 
 

TxDMV issues an annual over axle/over gross weight tolerance permit for the movement of divisible 
commodities. This is currently the only permit available from TxDMV for divisible loads. Divisible load 
commodities include cotton, asphalt, water and livestock.  Vehicles may exceed the allowed axle weights by a 
tolerance of 12% for agricultural commodities or 10% for non-agricultural commodities. The gross weight, 
with tolerances, may exceed gross weight limits by up to 5%.  Tolerances are above the maximum allowed for 
the particular vehicle or combination and are enforced based on the “outer bridge” distance (the distance 
between outer axles), not the vehicle’s registered weight.  

 

A weight tolerance permit allows travel on county roads and state-maintained roadways, including load 
posted roads, in those counties selected on the permit. The permit may not be used to travel on the Interstate 
Highway System.  Vehicles may not operate on a load-posted bridge if the gross weight of the vehicle and 
load, or the axles and wheel loads, are greater than the established and posted limits, unless the bridge provides the only access to or from an origin or destination.  

 

Weight tolerance permits were first authorized by House Bill (HB) 2060 passed by the 71
st

 Legislature in 
1989.  Permit fees were $75 annually, with $25 deposited to the State Highway Fund, and $50 divided 
among all 254 Texas counties based on the ratio of county road miles for each county. In 1995, the 74th 
Legislature passed HB 1547, changing the fee structure to include scaled county fees and added a windshield 
sticker requirement. The scaled county fees were divided among the counties based on county road mile 
ratios and the number of permits issued for each county. In 2009, the 81

st
 Legislature passed HB 441 raising 

the base fee from $75 annually to $90. The administrative fees and scaled county fees remained the same.  
 
In 2013, the 83

rd
 Legislature passed HB 2741, creating two 

new weight tolerance permits: an annual $1,500 timber 
weight tolerance permit, allowing timber haulers to exceed 
legal gross weight by a certain tolerance and requiring them 
to select the timber counties in which they wish to haul 
their load; and the $1,000 annual ready-mix concrete truck 
permit which applies to vehicles equipped with three axles.  
 
TxDMV is authorized to audit and assess administrative 
penalties against shippers who load carriers over the legal 
limits Counties and municipalities are now prohibited from 
requiring a permit, bond, fee, or license for the movement 
of equipment on the state highway system. In addition, a 
permit will become void when the owner or the owner’s 
representative fail to comply with a rule of the TxDMV 
board or with a condition placed on the permit. 
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Atascosa,  
$120,232  

Wilson,  
$110,945  

Lavaca,  
$102,806  

DeWitt,  
$102,729  

Gonzales,  
$97,571  

Remaining 
Counties,  

$1,226,857  

Permit Revenue 
Eagle Ford Shale Counties 

(FY 2012) 

Gaines,  
$74,803  

Dawson,  
$66,320  

Ector,  
$48,979  

Pecos,  
$40,993  

Howard,  
$40,364  

Remaing 
Counties, 
$274,163  

Permian Basin Counties 

Permit Revenue  
(FY2012) 

 
 

 Weight Tolerance Permits, FY 2012 

(Oil and Gas Related) 

Eagle Ford Shale 

Top 5 Counties for Weight Tolerance Permits (FY 2012): 

# Times Counties selected on a permit 249,774 

Total Amount of Dollars Paid to Counties $1,761,139 

Top 5 Counties (by dollar Volume): 

Atascosa    $120,232 
Wilson    $110,945 
Lavaca    $102,806 
DeWitt    $102,729 
Gonzales      $97,571 

 
 

Permian Basin 

Top 5 Counties for Weight Tolerance Permits (FY2012): 

# Times Counties selected on a permit 95,504 

Total Amount of Dollars Paid to Counties $545,621 

Top 5 Counties (by dollar volume):   

Dawson County   $37,756 
Midland County   $16,496    
Gaines County   $45,296 
Andrews County   $12,088 
Howard County   $22,116 
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Atascosa,  
$157,423  

Wilson,  
$150,335  

Lavaca,  
$144,119  

DeWitt,  
$134,699  Gonzales,  

$136,019  

Remaining 
Counties,  

$1,038,544  

Permit Revenue 
Eagle Ford Shale Counties 

(FY 2013) 

Gaines,  
$94,098  

Dawson,  
$82,401  

Ector,  
$61,381  

Pecos,  
$55,161  

Howard,  
$53,989  

Remaing 
Counties, 
$198,591  

Permit Revenue                         
Permian Basin Counties 

(FY2013) 

 

Weight Tolerance Permits, FY 2013 

(Oil and Gas Related) 
 

 Eagle Ford Shale 

Top 5 Counties for Weight Tolerance Permits (FY 2013): 

# Times Counties selected on a permit 341,145 

Total Amount of Dollars Paid to Counties $2,394,380 

Top 5 Counties (by dollar Volume): 

Atascosa    $157,423 
Wilson    $150,335 
Lavaca    $144,119 
DeWitt    $136,019 
Gonzales    $134,699 

 
 

Permian Basin 

Top 5 Counties for Weight Tolerance Permits (FY2013): 

# Times Counties selected on a permit 109,095 

Total Amount of Dollars Paid to Counties $618,064 

Top 5 Counties (by dollar volume):   

Dawson County   $94,098 
Midland County   $82,401    
Gaines County   $61,381 
Andrews County   $55,161 
Howard County   $53,989 
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Oversize/Overweight Permits 

(Statewide) 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Fees Collected      Permits Issued 

FY09 $95,315,100 527,453 

FY10 $93,946,859 500,522 

FY11 $113,349,391 590,980 

FY12 $146,994,776 741,080 

FY13 $162,002,437  790,123 

 

 

 

            Fees Collected             Permits Issued 
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TxDMV Enforcement Program 
 

TxDMV’s Enforcement Division developed and implemented the oversize/overweight enforcement program to ensure the safety of the traveling public and extend the life-cycle 

of our roadways and structures, through the enforcement of vehicle size and weight laws.  TxDMV personnel conduct educational presentations at industry trade shows, 

meetings, and seminars in an effort to keep motor carriers and shippers well-informed of changes in regulations and to encourage an atmosphere of openness and cooperation 

among the industry and TxDMV. 

Through the administrative process, TxDMV may assess an administrative penalty against a motor carrier if the carrier is found to have violated the oversize/overweight laws.  

The following penalties may be assessed following an audit of a motor carrier or shipper who is found to be in violation of size or weight laws, after notice and opportunity for 

hearing.  The administrative penalties are established by Tex. Transportation Code Sections 623.271 and 643.251. 

In fiscal year 2013 the Enforcement Division completed 580 investigations, an increase over fiscal year 2012’s completed investigations. In fiscal year 2012 assessed civil 

penalties were $267,850.  In fiscal year 2013 those penalties increased to $436,140.    

 

 

 

 

Violation Penalty 

 Carrier unknowingly commits violation Up to $  5,000 

Carrier knowingly commits violation Up to $15,000 

Carrier knowingly commits multiple violations Up to $30,000 



Texas 

Oversized and Overweight  

Permitting 

  



 

Size and Weight Limits in Texas 

 
Texas has established size and weight limits for all vehicles and loads moving on Texas roadways and bridges. 
 

Width is measured from the outside points of the widest extremities, excluding safety devices 
Height is measured from the roadbed to the highest point of the vehicle or load 
Length is measured from the foremost point of the vehicle or load, whichever extends further, to the rearmost point of the vehicle or load, 
whichever extends further 
Weight includes the weight of the vehicle or combination, plus the weight of the load being transported 

 
The maximum dimensions of a vehicle that may be operated on Texas’ highways without an oversize/overweight permit are as follows: 
 
 
Width – 8’6” 
Height – 14’ 
Length (includes any front/rear overhang): 
Weight: 

o Gross – 80,000 pounds maximum  

o Single axle – 20,000 pounds  

o Tandem axle group – 34,000 pounds 

o Triple axle group – 42,000 pounds 

o Quad axle group – 50,000 pounds 

 

 
 
 
 
The basis for maximum legal weight is the number of axles.  This information, in conjunction with the Permissible Weight Table, is used to 
determine maximum legal weight for a vehicle. 
 
 

Vehicle Type Length Limit 

Single motor vehicle 45 feet 

Truck-tractor Unlimited 

Semitrailer, of two-vehicle combination 59 feet 

Two- or Three-Vehicle combination other than truck-tractor & 
semitrailer1 

65 feet 

Each trailer or semitrailer of a twin-trailer combination 28.5 feet 

Traditional boat/auto transporter combination1 65 feet 

Commercial truck & stinger-steered semitrailer transporting 
autos/boats1 

75 feet 

Front overhang 3 feet 

Rear overhang 4 feet 



            

30/60/90 Day Width or Length Permits 

Non-divisible loads 
Use width and length permits in conjunction with one another 
Select 30, 60, or 90 day effective period 

 
Permits expire 30, 60 or 90 days from "movement to begin" date, depending upon the type of permit purchased. 

 

In order to qualify for a 30, 60 or 90 day permit, vehicles and loads must be: 

•No greater than 13' wide, 14' high or legal length for an overwidth permit, and 

•No greater than 8'6" wide, 14' high, 110' long for vehicles and loads on a trailer for an overlength permit, or 

•No longer than 75' long for single vehicles moving empty or hauling a load. 

Note:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If 

not required to have the TxDMV MCR or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV.  

Overwidth and overlength permits are not valid for manufactured homes or portable buildings. 

 

Fee: 
30 day time permit $120 

60 day time permit $180 

90 day time permit $240 



             

Company Specific Envelope Permit 

 Non-divisible loads 

 Can be used to operate any truck owned or leased by company one at a time 

 Valid for one year 

 

The annual envelope permit is issued to companies transporting non-divisible loads exceeding Texas legal size and weight limits that fall within 

specific envelope dimensions and weight. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date. 

 

The company specific annual envelope permit is issued to a specific company, not a specific vehicle, and may be used to operate any properly 

registered truck owned or leased to that company. No more than one vehicle can be operated at one time with a specific permit, but a company 

may purchase more than one permit. 

 

Oversize and/or overweight equipment operating under this permit may not exceed: 

 Width – 12’ 

 Height -  14’ 

 Length – 110’ 

 Weight – 120,000 lbs. gross weight 

Note:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not 

required to have the TxDMV MCR or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV 

Fee: 

$4000 Annual Fee 



 

Crane & Well Service Unit Mileage Permit 
Unladen lift equipment 

Fixed-load machinery used to drill, service or clean oil wells 

Single, continuous movement 
 

The single-trip is a   mileage-based permit issued for the movement of self-propelled and trailer-mounted cranes as well as well-servicing units 

exceeding legal Texas size and weight limits.  They are valid for a maximum of seven consecutive days, from a specific point of origin to a specific 

ending point. A single-trip mileage permit allows the unit to return to the point of origin or other location on the same permit, provided the miles 

for the entire route are charged. 

The maximum permit weight for any single axle may not exceed 30,000 pounds or 850 pounds per inch of tire width, whichever is less. Units may 

not to exceed 850 pounds per inch of tire width for non-steerable units and 950 pounds per inch of tire width for steerable units. 

Fee: 

$31 minimum fee based on the number of miles permitted to travel and the size and weight of the vehicle and load.  Customer is asked to call 

TxDMV for final fee. 

 

Mileage traveled is based on the routed number of miles 

Highway use factor is 0.6 for single-trip mileage permits [TAC §§219.42(d)(2)(A) and 219.62(d)(2)(A)]. 

Total rate per mile is determined by the combined mileage rates outlined in TAC §§219.42 and 219.62 

Mileage 

traveled 

X Highway Use 

Factor  

X Total Rate 

per Mile 

X Indirect 

Cost Share 

= Permit Fee 



              

Fracing Trailer Permit 
Semitrailer containing a tank and pump unit 

Valid for one year 

The annual permit for the movement of a vehicle combination consisting of a truck-tractor and semitrailer specifically designed with a tank and pump unit for 

transporting liquid fracing products, liquid oil well waste products and unrefined liquid petroleum products to or from oil wells not connected to pipeline. The 

semitrailer must fall within Texas legal size and weight limits. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date.    

 

NOTE:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR).  If not required to 

have the TxDMV MCR or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV. 

 

This permit allows movement when the vehicle or semitrailer: 

Carries liquid oil well waste products or unrefined petroleum products from wells not connected to a pipeline and return empty; or 

Hauls liquid products related to oil well production to an oil well and return empty; or 

Hauls liquid products related to oil well production to an oil well and return with liquid waste products or unrefined liquid petroleum products from an 

oil well not connected to a pipeline. 

Fee: 

Fees are based on the type of movements to be performed with the permit and the number of axles on the semitrailer. Annual fees per axle are as follows: 

$52 per axle to haul liquid well waste products or unrefined liquid petroleum products from oil wells not connected by a pipeline and to return empty 

$52 per axle to haul liquid products related to oil well production to an oil well and to return empty. 

$104 per axle to haul liquid products related to oil well production to an oil well and return with liquid oil well waste products or unrefined petroleum 

products from an oil well not connected to a pipeline. 

$20 issuance fee in addition to the permit fee 



 

             

General Single-Trip Permits 
Non-divisible load 

 
The single-trip permit is for the movement of non-divisible vehicles and/or loads exceeding legal Texas size and weight limits up to 254,300 pounds. Single-trip permits may only 
be used for one movement, during the times specified on the permit, from a specific point of origin to a specific destination. There are special requirements for single-trip 
manufactured housing and portable building permits.   
 
A Super Heavy Single-Trip Permit is available for the movement of vehicles and loads that exceed 254,300 pounds total gross weight exceed the maximum permit weights on any 
axle or axle group or exceed 200,000 pounds with less than 95 feet of axle spacing.   
Note:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not required to have the TxDMV MCR 
or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV 
 
Fee: 

Single-trip permit fee is $60 
A highway maintenance fee is required for loads exceeding 80,000 pounds.  
Highway maintenance fees are listed in the table below: 

 
 
**Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 200,000 
pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing.  A vehicle supervision fee 
will be charged, in addition to the permit fee and highway maintenance fee, for loads exceeding 200,000 pounds. 

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee 

80,000-120,000 $150 $60 $210 

120,001 – 160,000 $225 $60 $285 

160,001 – 200,000 $300 $60 $360 

200,001 – above** $375 $60 $435 



         

Hay Permit 
 Transport round bales of hay 

 Side-by-side loading 

 Valid for one year 

 

The annual Hay Permit is issued to transport wide loads of cylindrical (round) bales of hay. The permit allows round bales of hay to be loaded side 

by side up to 12 feet wide to travel on all state-maintained highways in Texas.  All other dimensions and weight must be legal.   

  

This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date. 

 

Periodically, the governor may grant a temporary waiver for the transport of round hay bales due to severe drought conditions.  The waiver 

suspends permit requirements and legal height restrictions for round bales until designated time. 

 

Fee: 

$10 annual permit fee 

 
 



 

 

House Move Permit 
Transport houses that exceed 20-feet wide 
Single, continuous movement from point to point 

 
The House Move permit may only be used once during the times specified on the permit, from a specific point of origin to a specific destination.  TxDMV will 

provide carrier with a proposed route based on: 

  The amount of inconvenience and hazard imposed on the traveling public 

  Highway geometrics and time of movement 

  The overall width, measured to the nearest inch, of the house, including the eaves or porches 

The carrier’s representative must physically inspect the proposed route to ensure the safety of the load, traveling public and state infrastructure. They must 

notify TxDMV in writing whether the vehicle and load can or cannot safely negotiate the proposed route. 

 

Note:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not required to have 
the TxDMV MCR or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV 
 

Fee: 
The permit fee is $60. 

In addition to the permit fee, a highway maintenance fee is required for loads exceeding 80,000 pounds. Highway maintenance fees are listed in the table below: 

Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 200,000 pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing. A vehicle supervision fee will 

be charged, in addition to the permit fee and highway 

maintenance fee, for loads exceeding 200,000 pounds. 

 

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee 

80,001 120,000 $150 $60 $210 

120,001 - 160,000 $225 $60 $285 

160,001 - 200,000 $300 $60 $360 

200,001 - above* $375 $60 $435 



 

            

Implements of Husbandry Permit 
Transport farm implements used to till soil 

Valid for one year from the “movement to begin” date 

 

Implements of husbandry include farm implements, machinery and tools, as used in tilling the soil, including self-propelled machinery specifically designed or 
adapted for applying plant food materials or agricultural chemicals, but not "designed or adapted for the sole purpose of transporting the materials or 
chemicals." Examples: subsoilers, dozers - provided they are for farm use: cultivators, farm tractors, reapers, binders, combines, cotton module builders, 
planters, discs, etc.  Implements of husbandry do not include automobiles, trucks or items used on the farm such as irrigation systems, silo, barns, etc. 
Note: Implements of husbandry that are only overwidth are not required to have a permit, provided they do not travel more than 50 miles on an Interstate 
Highway System. 
 
Note:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not required to have 
the TxDMV MCR or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV 
 

Fee: 
 
The permit fee is $270. 
 
In addition to the permit fee, a highway maintenance fee is required for 
loads exceeding 80,000 pounds. 
 

Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 

200,000 pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing. A vehicle 

supervision fee will be charged, in addition to the permit fee and highway 

maintenance fee, for loads exceeding 200,000 pounds. 

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee 

80,001 - 120,000 $150 $270 $420 

120,001 - 160,000 $225 $270 $495 

160,001 - 200,000 $300 $270 $570 

200,001 - above* $375 $270 $645 



              

Manufactured Housing Annual Permit 
Transport new homes to temporary storage location (20 mile radius) 

May be used by multiple vehicles 

Valid for one year 

 
The Manufactured Housing Permit allows for the transport of newly manufactured homes that exceed Texas legal size limits from a manufacturing 

facility to a temporary storage location.  The movement may not exceed 20 miles from the point of manufacture.  The permit expires one year from 

the “movement-to-begin” date. 

 

Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR), Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) or be licensed 

by the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA). 

 

Fee: 

$1,500 

 



          

Manufactured Housing Single-Trip Permits 
Transport manufactured housing and industrialized buildings and housing 

Single, continuous movement from point A to point B 

Valid for five days 

 
The single-trip permit is issued for the movement of manufactured housing or industrialized buildings/housing exceeding Texas legal size limits 

when transported on any returnable undercarriage or temporary chassis system.  Single-trip manufactured housing permits may only be used for 

one movement, during the times specified on the permit (not to exceed five days), and from a specific point of origin to a specific destination. 

 

Prior to being issued a permit, you must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR), Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) or be licensed by 

the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs.   

 

If you are the owner and/or occupant of a manufactured home, you may move your home provided the home and the pulling vehicle are both 

registered to you.  This applies only to homes being moved by the owner as a personal family dwelling. 

 

Fee: 

$40 per trip 



           

Mobile Crane Annual Permit 
 

Unladen lift equipment 

Valid for one year 

 

The annual permit is issued to mobile cranes which exceed Texas’ legal width and weight limits, the permit expires one year from the “movement-

to-begin” date.  Cranes operating under this permit may not exceed the following restrictions: 

 

 Dimensions 
 

 Width – 10’ 

 Height – Legal 

 Length – Legal 

 
 
 
 

 

        Weight 
 

650 pounds per inch of tire width 

120,000 pounds gross weight 

25,000 pounds single axle 

46,000 pounds tandem axle group 

60,000 pounds 3-axle group 

70,000 pounds 4-axle group 

81,400 pounds 5-axle group 

Fee:  

$100 annual fee 



 

 

Multi-State (WASHTO) Permit 
Non-divisible load 

Route includes multiple states; part of the Western Regional Agreement 

   (Associated with the Western Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials)  

Single, continuous movement from Point A to Point B 

 
TxDMV participates with TxDOT in WASHTO and the permitting process through the Western Regional Agreement for the Issuance of Permits for Oversize and Overweight 

Vehicles Involved in Interstate Travel. Under this agreement, each member state may issue regional permits allowing operations in any other member state. The following states 

are currently members of the Western Regional Agreement: Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, Oklahoma, Louisiana and 

Nevada.  Multi-state permits may only be used for one movement, during the times specified on the permit (not to exceed five working days), from a specific point of origin to a 

specific destination. 

 

Note:  Prior to being issued a permit, carrier must comply with TxDMV Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). If not required to have the TxDMV MCR 
or the UCR, carrier is required to have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV 
 
Fee: 

Fees are calculated and collected by each state based on their fee schedules of each member state in route; however fees are the same as if ordered directly from each state. 

In Texas, a highway maintenance fee is required for loads exceeding 80,000 pounds.  Highway maintenance fees are listed in the table below: 
 

**Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 200,000 

pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing.  A vehicle supervision fee 

will be charged, in addition to the permit fee and highway maintenance fee, for 

loads exceeding 200,000 pounds.                                     

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee 

80,000-120,000 $150 $60 $210 

120,001 – 160,000 $225 $60 $285 

160,001 – 200,000 $300 $60 $360 

200,001 – above** $375 $60 $435 



 

 

Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit 
Haul divisible commodities and may not travel on Interstate highways 

Travel on state-maintained and county roads in select counties 

Valid for one year; expires one year from the “movement-to-begin date 

 

The annual weight tolerance permit is for the transport of divisible commodities. (Example:  gravel, timber, cotton).  Vehicles with a weight tolerance permit may 

exceed the allowable axle weight by a tolerance of 12 percent for agricultural commodities or 10 percent for non-agricultural commodities. A vehicle with a 

Weight Tolerance Permit may exceed the allowable gross weight up to 5 percent. Tolerances are based on the vehicle’s outer bridge distance (distance between 

the center of the steering axle to the center of last axle), rather than the vehicle’s registered weight.   

 

Vehicles and/or vehicle combinations may not exceed Texas legal size limits. Vehicles moving under this permit may travel on county roads and state-maintained 

roadways, excluding the Interstate Highway System, in those counties selected on the permit application. 

 

Prior to being issued a permit, the carrier must have an Over Axle/Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Bond in the amount of $15,000 or an Irrevocable Letter 

of Credit on file with TxDMV. 

 

Fees: 
The annual permit fee includes a base fee of $90 and an administrative fee of $5, plus 

a county fee based on the number of counties selected on the permit.   

Number of Counties County Fee Total Fee 

1-5 $175 $270 

6-20 $250 $345 

21-40 $450 $545 

41-60 $625 $720 

61-80 $800 $895 

81-100 $900 $995 

101-254 $1,000 $1,095 



 

Portable Building Single-Trip Permits 
Transport portable buildings and compatible cargo 

 

This is a single-trip permit for the transportation of portable buildings and portable building compatible cargo when exceeding Texas legal size 

limits. Single-trip permits may only be used for one movement, during the times specified on the permit, from a specific point of origin to a specific 

destination. 

 

To qualify for the portable building single-trip permit, the vehicle and load must be no greater than 14 feet high and 80 feet long. Vehicles and/or 

loads exceeding these dimensions require a general single-trip permit. 

 

Fee: 

$15 per trip 

 

 

 

 



           

Quarterly Hubometer Permits 

Drive or transport hubometer-equipped fixed-load machinery and cranes 

Mileage based fees 

Valid for 91 days 

 

TxDMV issues quarterly hubometer permits for the following vehicle types: 

Self-propelled oil well servicing units 

Self-propelled mobile cranes 

Self-propelled concrete pumps 

Trailer-mounted oil well servicing units 

Coiled tubing units 

Swabbing units 

Self-propelled bundle extractors 

This permit expires 91 days from the "movement to begin" date. 

Units operating under this permit may not exceed: 

Maximum width – 12' 

Maximum height – 14'6" 

Maximum length – 95' 

Maximum weight: ◦ 

 30,000 pounds per axle based upon results of weight analysis 

  850 pounds per inch of tire width for non-steerable units 

 950 pounds per inch of tire width for steerable units 

Fee: 

$31 minimum fee based on the number of miles permitted to travel and the size and weight of the vehicle and load.  Customer is asked to call TxDMV for final fee. 

 

Mileage traveled is based on the routed number of miles 

Highway use factor is 0.6 for single-trip mileage permits TAC §§219.42(d)(2)(A) and 219.62(d)(2)(A). 

Total rate per mile is determined by the combined mileage rates outlined in TAC §§219.42 and 219.62 

Mileage 

traveled 

X Highway Use 

Factor  

X Total Rate 

per Mile 

X Indirect Cost 

Share 

= Permit Fee 



 

Ready-Mixed Concrete Truck Permit 
Trucks operating on three axles 

Travel on state-maintained and county roads in select counties 

Valid for one year 

 

The permit allows ready-mixed concrete trucks and concrete pump trucks to exceed single and tandem axle weight allowances listed in TRC 

§622.012(a) by 10 percent if the gross weight does not exceed 69,000 pounds - maximum single-axle weight of 25,300 pounds and tandem-axle 

weight of 50,600 pounds.  The permit holder may travel on any Texas road except the Interstate Highway System.  Travel is allowed on state, 

municipal or county roads, including county roads that are load–zoned less than 69,000 pounds, in counties specified on the permit.  Trucks may 

not cross a load-posted bridge when exceeding the posted capacity. 

 

Counties and municipalities may not require an additional permit, fee, or license for operation of a permitted truck. 

 

Fee: 

$1,000 annual permit 

 



 

Rig-Up Truck/Unladen Lift Permit 

 Truck equipped with a winch and gin poles 

     Annual Permit 

 

TxDMV issues an annual permit for the movement of rig-up trucks on state-maintained roads.  This permit is an annual permit that expires one year 

from the “movement to begin” date. 

Units operating under this permit may not exceed: 

Height – Legal  

Length – Legal 

Weight – 25,000 pounds or 850 pounds per inch of tire width on the steer axle(s), whichever is less.  All other axles must be legal weight 

Prior to permit issuance, must have $10,000 permit bond on file with TxDMV 

 

Prior to permit issuance, a carrier must have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV. 

 

Fee: 
The permit is $52 annually 

 

 

 



 

 

Self-Propelled Off Road Equipment 

    Drive off-road equipment on state roadways 

    Single, continuous movement from Point A to Point B 

 
TxDMV issues an annual permit for the movement of rig-up trucks on state-maintained roads.  This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the “movement to 

begin” date. 

Self-propelled off road equipment operating under this permit must meet the following requirements: 

Weight per inch of tire width does not exceed 650 pounds 

Weight per axle does not exceed 45,000 pounds 

All wheels have a minimum rim diameter of 25 inches 

Minimum spacing between axles, measured from center of axle to center of axle, is not less than 12 feet 

Note: Equipment moving under this permit may not travel on controlled access highways. 

Prior to permit issuance, you must have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV. 

 

Fees: 

Annual permit fee is $60 

In addition to the permit fee, a highway maintenance 

fee is required for loads exceeding 80,000 pounds.  

Highway maintenance fees are listed in the table: 

 
 
*Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 200,000 pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing.  A vehicle supervision fee will be charged, in 
addition to the permit fee and highway maintenance fee, for loads exceeding 200,000 pounds. 

 

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee 

80,000-120,000 $150 $60 $210 

120,001 – 160,000 $225 $60 $285 

160,001 – 200,000 $300 $60 $360 

200,001 – above* $375 $60 $435 



 

 

Super Heavy 
Non-divisible load 

Gross weight may exceed 254,300 lbs. or 200,000 lbs. with less than 95 feet of axle spacing 

May exceed maximum permit weights on axle or axle group 

 

The single-trip super heavy permit is for the movement of non-divisible vehicles and/or loads that exceed 254,300 pounds total gross weight, the maximum permit weights on 

any axle or axle group or between 200,001 pounds and 254,300 pounds with less than 95 feet of axle spacing. 

 

Single-trip permits may only be used for one movement, during the times specified on the permit, from a specific point of origin to a specific destination. 

 

Prior to being issued a permit, you must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR). 

 

Fees: 

The permit fee is $60. 

In addition to the permit fee, a $375 highway maintenance fee and the applicable vehicle supervision fee are required. Vehicle supervision fees are listed in the table below. 

 

 

Item Fee 

Bridge analysis performed by a state (TxDOT) 
approved private engineer 

$500 

Additional identical permit loads ordered within 
30 days of last permit 

$35 

No bridges crossed on route $100 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Temporary Registration 

       Temporary movement of vehicles without proper registration 

       Document carried in cab of vehicle, not a paper display tag 

       72-hour, 144-hour or one-trip 

 

Temporary vehicle registration allows temporary movement of a vehicle under specific circumstances, including: 

The vehicle is not registered 

The vehicle is properly registered in an IRP state without Texas listed 

The vehicle is registered in a state that does not have a reciprocity agreement with Texas 

The vehicle is registered in a state that has a prorate agreement with Texas, but does not have a prorate sticker or registration cab card for Texas 

To increase weight, if the vehicle is not registered for its maximum allowable weight 

Three types of temporary registration permits are available to motor carriers: 72-hour, 144-hour and one-trip.  One-trip temporary registration is only available to unladen 

vehicles with a route that either begins or ends in Texas. This permit only allows the vehicle to travel from a single origin to a single destination point and is valid for 15 days.  

Prior to issuance of temporary registration, the operator must have either proof of Motor Carrier Registration, Certificate of Accord from their insurance company, or if they are 

a Texas resident, submit an insurance card. 

 

Eligibility for One-Trip Temporary Registration 

o Passenger cars carrying passengers and property, or a pulling travel trailer 

o Travel trailers 

o Truck or truck-tractor in combination with an unladen semitrailer (both 

vehicles in the combination require temporary registration) 

o Truck with a mounted camper unit 

o Charter bus from another state or country (may carry property and passengers) 

o Mobile offices that are completely gutted or empty of furniture 

  

Not Eligible for One-Trip Temporary Registration 

o Manufactured housing 

o Texas-based charter buses carrying passengers and property 

o Any laden vehicle, meaning truck, trailer, etc. 

o Fixed load vehicle, regardless of whether the vehicle is of the conventional or 

unconventional type 

o Mobile offices, mobile laboratories and mobile bunkhouses (must have full 

registration or purchase 72-/144-hour temporary registration) 

 

Fees: 

The permit fee is $60. 

In addition to the permit fee, a $375 highway 

maintenance fee and the applicable vehicle supervision 

fee are required.  

Vehicle supervision fees are listed in table: 

Item Fee 

Bridge analysis performed by a state (TxDOT) 
approved private engineer 

$500 

Additional identical permit loads ordered within 30 
days of last permit 

$35 

No bridges crossed on route $100 



         

Annual Timber Permit 
Transport unrefined timber, wood chips or woody biomass 

Travel on state-maintained and county roads in select counties 

Valid for one year 

 

The permit allows a truck to carry up to 44,000 pounds on a tandem axle provided the gross weight of the vehicle/vehicle combination does not exceed 84,000 

pounds.  Permit holders may travel on county roads and state-maintained roadways, excluding the Interstate Highway System, in timber counties selected on 

the permit application.  This includes county roads that are load-zoned less than 69,000 pounds.  Trucks may not cross a load- posted bridge when exceeding the 

posted capacity.   

 

Prior to issuance of the timber permit, carrier must have a timber permit bond in the amount of $15,000 or an original (not electronic copy) irrevocable letter of 

credit on file with the TxDMV.  

  

At least two business days prior to movement, the permit holder must electronically notify TxDOT and affected counties of the address or geographical area that 

the carrier intends to operate, including the name or number of each county or state road and the dates or duration of movement.  Electronic notification will be 

made through the TxDMV website. 

 

Fee: 

$1,500 annual permit 



 

Utility Pole 

Transport poles required for electrical power transmission and line distribution 

Night movement for emergencies 

Valid for one year 

This permit is used exclusively for the transportation of poles required for the maintenance of electric power transmission and distribution of lines. 
The maximum vehicle dimensions may be up to 75' long and may not exceed other Texas legal size and weight limits.   

Prior to being issued a permit, the carrier must comply with TxDMV Motor Carrier Registration (MCR) or Unified Carrier Registration (UCR).  If not 
required to have TxDMV MCR or UCR, the carrier must have a permit bond in the amount of $10,000 on file with TxDMV. 

Fee: 

$120 fee annually 

 

 



 

Vehicle Specific Envelope Permit 

Non-divisible loads 

Valid for one year 

TxDMV issues an annual envelope permit for the movement of non-divisible vehicles and loads exceeding Texas legal size and weight limits that fall within 
specific envelope dimensions and weight. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date.   

Oversize and/or overweight equipment operating under this permit may not exceed 12’ width, 14’height, 110’ length, and 120,000 lbs. gross weight: 

 Prior to issuance of the timber permit, carrier must have a timber permit bond in the amount of $15,000 or an original (not electronic copy) 
irrevocable letter of credit on file with the TxDMV.   

Fee: 

$4,000 annual permit 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

Water Well Drilling Machinery & Equipment Permits 

Self-propelled or mounted machinery used exclusively for drilling water wells 

Valid for one year 
 

TxDMV issues an annual permit for the movement of water well drilling machinery and related equipment that cannot be reasonably dismantled. This permit is an annual permit 

that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date. 

 

Prior to issuance of the timber permit, carrier must have a timber permit bond in the amount of $15,000 or an original (not electronic copy) irrevocable letter of credit on file 

with the TxDMV.   

 

Oversize or overweight water well drilling machinery and equipment operating under this permit may not exceed: 

 Maximum Width - 16' 

 Maximum Height - 14'6" 

 Maximum Length - 110' 

 Maximum Weight - maximum allowable permit weights 

 

Note: Machinery and equipment moving under this permit may only travel on the state highway system. 

 

Fee: 

$270 annual permit 

In addition to the permit fee, a highway maintenance fee is 

required for loads exceeding 80,000 pounds. Highway 

maintenance fees are listed in the table.  

 

*Vehicles and loads with a combined gross vehicle weight exceeding 200,000 pounds must have at least 95 feet of total axle spacing. A vehicle supervision fee will be charged, in 

addition to the permit fee and highway maintenance fee, for loads exceeding 200,000 pounds. 

Gross Weight in Pounds Highway Maintenance Fee Permit Fee Total Fee 

80,001 - 120,000 $150 $270 $420 

120,001 - 160,000 $225 $270 $495 

160,001 - 200,000 $300 $270 $570 

200,001 - above* $375 $270 $645 



 

Well Service Unit Annual Permits 
Transport legal size and weight units 

Must have Texas “P” (Permit) plate 

Valid for one year 

 

 

This is an annual permit for the movement of oil well servicing units that do not exceed legal size and weight limits and are registered with a Texas 

"permit" plate. This permit is an annual permit that expires one year from the "movement to begin" date. 

 

Units operating under this permit may not exceed 650 pounds per inch of tire width on the front axle. 

 

Fee: 

$52 per axle annual permit 
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