skip to main content

registration renewal e-reminder address change specialty plates temporary permits vehicle-transit vehicle transfer notification title check

“Two Steps, One Sticker”: Inspection & Registration Together at Last


As a result of House Bill 2305 passed during the 83rd legislative session (2013), the State of Texas no longer issues inspection stickers and has transitioned to a “Two Steps, One Sticker” vehicle inspection and registration program. Your registration sticker serves as combined proof of registration and inspection. Beginning March 1, 2016, you will have 90 days to complete the Two Steps. In order to renew on time, your vehicle must pass inspection no earlier than 90 days before your registration expires.

Why You’ll Love “Two Steps, One Sticker”
  • One sticker, one date: With “Two Steps, One Sticker” you will just have one sticker with one expiration date.
  • Less clutter, better view: With “Two Steps, One Sticker” you will just have the familiar blue-bordered registration sticker in the corner of your windshield.
  • Safer streets, cleaner air: Because a passing vehicle inspection is a requirement to renew your registration, more Texans comply with the safety and emissions testing laws. So with “Two Steps, One Sticker” there are safer and more environmentally-sound cars on the road.
  • Fraud prevention: With inspection stickers no longer needed under “Two Steps, One Sticker,” this change eliminates the risk of inspection sticker fraud and theft.
Who’s At the Wheel

The implementation of “Two Steps, One Sticker” is a joint effort of three state agencies as required by state law:

  • The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV): The TxDMV administers the state’s vehicle registration program.
  • The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS): The DPS administers the state’s vehicle safety inspection program.
  • The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ): The TCEQ administers the state’s vehicle emissions testing program.
Staying Informed on “Two Steps, One Sticker”

For more information, visit

Copyright © 2017 Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. All rights reserved. - 4000 Jackson Ave, Austin, TX 78731